Crochet Craziness I – A tutorial on how to start…

When I started to crochet, I had not only trouble pronouncing the word “crocheting”, but also would have appreciated some sort of guidance.

I was eight years old.

Mum doesn’t do crafty stuff at all, Nana hasn’t done it in ages, because she’s busy being the town’s gossip girl #1 and my Kiwi host-mum prefers knitting over crochet. So that left me to myself and I learned it the hard way.

By the way, my English-speaking friends couldn’t help me with the pronunciation-problem either, so if you have a solution, please tell me about it.

Anyways, if you want to learn to crochet, I am sure you can profit from my experience – which is, admittedly still limited, but I think there is a reason why they call it “life-long learning”.

To start with, you need a crochet hook and yarn. At the beginning, it doesn’t really matter what type or colour of yarn, because it won’t look that great anyway (but it helps to start with a colour you like – I used some ugly brown, that was the first mistake!).

✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂

I) So you grab your yarn and lay a snare of some sort:

This is the place where your hook will go through and then it’ll be easy as: from underneath, you pull your hook around the thread, sort of “grab” it with the hook and pull it through the snare (first loop of the chain).

Now that was easy. Repeat that a few times, depending on how wide your piece is supposed to be.

And voilà – this chain is the beginning of your needlework.

✂ ✂ ✂

II) For round patterns that start off with circles, it is quite handy to use the magic ring:


From underneath, pull the working end and “wrap” it around your crochet hook.

Now start like you would otherwise: wrap the crochet hook around the working end, then grab the working end once again, this time from underneath the two circular strings.

Pull the working end through – and that was your first single crochet. Now continue as many times as required inside the circle.

Once your needlework has the required length (e. g. 5 stitches in the first round), just pull the loose end:

I always like to add one chain (just like in the example above: wrap your crochet hook around the working end and pull it through the loop) and then one slip stitch to close the round:

For the slip stitch, just put your hook through the next stitch and pull the working end through both.

✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂✂ ✂ ✂

It’s always easiest to try it out yourself, but I hope this helps a little bit.

If something is not clear, please ask. I will reply as quickly as possible.

However,  I warmly welcome any tipps and tricks from those of you who know more that I do.

Next time I’ll show you what you can do with those crochet skills you are developing now. Until then: have fun and practise a lot!

13 thoughts on “Crochet Craziness I – A tutorial on how to start…

  1. Pingback: Crochet Craziness IV – Granny Squares | WEEKEND WIND UP #41 | coffeerocketfairytale

  2. Pingback: Crochet Craziness IV – Granny Squares | WEEKEND WIND UP #41 « coffeerocketfairytale

  3. Pingback: Crochet Craziness III – Some more basics « coffeerocketfairytale

  4. Hey, thanks for visiting! Lovely to get to know you! Make sure to keep tuning in, there is more to come!

  5. @Sharon G.
    Haha, that’s funny, because I think the same – but bout knitting. I can certainly crochet , but how am I supposed to keep the yarn or wool on two straight needles?
    I used to knit, because in primary school we had to learn needlework, knitting, crochet and cross stitch, but that was ages ago and I can’t really remember…

  6. At some point I should learn how to crochet. A friend bought me a DVD a while back as a hint. I can hold my own with knitting needles, but one little hook?? I’m a bit nervous!!

  7. @Grace
    There was a long time span between when I first learned to crochet (when I was 8 ) and when I seriously started developing my skills further (which was a few years ago). I found that once someone had explained to me how to do it, it kind of came back to me. I don’t think you entirely unlearn something like that… it’s more forgetting how to do it.

    And about childhood skills… I had that horrible dream last night in which I had decided to play tennis again. As a child, I used to play tennis (and I was never really good at it) and in my dream, I had gotten even worse. I couldn’t even play the ball!

  8. I learned to crochet when I was a kid. Unfortunately, like my other childhood skill of playing the piano, it’s gone with the wind.

  9. @Blond Duck
    It is a duck, indeed. Glad someone recognised it, because my Mum thought it was a yellow penguin.

    Well I find crochet much faster and easier than knitting, for example. For some reason I never got the hang of knitting.

  10. Is that a duck I spy? How cute!

    I’ve always loved crochet, but I don’t know if I’d have the patience to do it. I tried to make stockings for Ben and me for Christmas where it’s a kit and you sew on all the little things…that didn’t work out too well.

  11. Haha, I practised a lot, you know. Every morning at Offbeat… it was worth it. (My camera might be the reason why it looks so easy, though, the pics came out nicely.)

    What did she use a spinning wheel for?

  12. You make it look so easy but it’s not I’m sure. My Oma used to crochet blankets and stuff. I always like the spinning wheel myself cause it had a pedal.

Leave a Reply

