Fairytaleicious Chocolate Cupcakes à la Sabrina | WEEKEND WIND UP #15

This weekend, I spent my Saturday in quite a housewifey manner.

I spent almost four hours cleaning and scrubbing and brushing the entire flat from top to bottom, then I made roast vegetables for dinner and then I made cupcakes.

The most delicious cupcakes I ever made, I have to say.

Although I had read the recipe a few times, before I went grocery shopping on Saturday morning, I still ended up buying the wrong ingredients and so I decided to make the best out of it and create my own recipe with the ingredients that I had bought.

And because it turned out so lovely, I feel like I should share it with you.

Here’s how I made my “Fairytaleicious Chocolate Cupcakes à la Sabrina” (perfect for “Give me the chocolate and no one gets hurt”-moments!)

CAKES

50g margarine
115g soft dark brown sugar
2 eggs
115g plain flour (+ ~3 tbsp)
~ 1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
~ 1 tablespoon cocoa powder
100ml double cream

Melt the margarine in a pan or small pot (remember to stir occasionally and remove from the heat as soon as the margarine is melted, as you don’t want it to turn brown!), mix in the sugar, eggs, flour, bicarbonate of soda and cocoa powder.

Mix well, then add double cream. You will see that the mix turns out to be quite thin, so you might want to add more flour (I suggest between 2 and 3 tablespoons).

With two spoons, fill the dough into little paper cases in a muffin tin, put it into the oven and bake for around 20 minutes at 180°C. When they cakes slightly spring back when touched, you know that they are done and can be taken out of the oven. Let them cool down a little before removing from the muffin tin.

ICING

100g milk chocolate
~ 5-8 tbsp icing sugar
~ 2-3 tbsp double cream
~ 1 tbsp cocoa powder

For the icing, you need to melt the chocolate first. The best way to do this, is to place a heatproof bowl, in which you put the chocolate, over a pot of simmering water and let it melt, while you stir occasionally. Once the chocolate is melted, allow it to cool down a little, then stir in the icing sugar and add the double cream.

You may want to use more icing sugar to make the icing thicker and that’s when the cocoa powder is needed, because if you use relatively much icing sugar, your icing tastes more like sugar than chocolate, but to get the chocolate taste back, add cocoa powder.

I find that making the perfect icing has a lot to do with practise – and a good amount of luck. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.

Just remember that you’re icing should taste a bit like chocolate, but still be thick enough so that it stays on top of the cakes. And that’s it.

Put it on top of the cakes and if you wish, decorate them with hundreds and thousands or whatever else comes to your mind.

Enjoy!

I personally would recommend a cup of cappuccino to have with it, because coffee can make them only taste even better! Hope your weekend is as delicious as mine!

7 thoughts on “Fairytaleicious Chocolate Cupcakes à la Sabrina | WEEKEND WIND UP #15

  1. Pingback: Tatatataaaaaa: Popsicle Pics! | coffeerocketfairytale

  2. Pingback: Oreo cupcakes & miraculous B/W chocolate bark | coffeerocketfairytale

  3. Pingback: A blast from the past | coffeerocketfairytale

  4. Pingback: Popsicle Business | coffeerocketfairytale

  5. Pingback: Coffee cupcakes « coffeerocketfairytale

  6. Pingback: Tatatataaaaaa: Popsicle Pics! « coffeerocketfairytale

  7. Pingback: Fairytaleicious revisited | WEEKEND WIND UP #28 « coffeerocketfairytale

Leave a Reply

