monday morning message #20

“Writing is a socially acceptable form of schizophrenia.”
~ E. L. Doctorow

Hello, hello and good morning!

The first week of NaNoWriMo is over and I already feel very attached to my characters.

It’s amazing. I literally went into NaNoWriMo with nothing, except for my typing-addiction – and all of a sudden I created a whole world.

I’m the kind of person who likes to plan, to make outlines, storylines, schedules. But for some reason I didn’t find the time to do all that during October, so I just went straight into the story on November 1, according to my new life motto: “Let’s just see what happens”.

My antagonist kind of turned into my protagonist and went to places, she was never meant to go.

One of my protagonists, however, turned kind of into an antagonist instead.

He was meant to travel the world, but so far he just stayed in one place and apart from the fact that he has breakfast every morning, there is nothing we know about him.

So that wasn’t planned, either.

And then there is this other main character, who was supposed to be my antagonist’s lost sister and therefore the overall main character of the story. But she sort of faded into the background and has more of a passive role here, too.

It’s ridiculous that everything turns out differently from how it ought to be – and it’s great.

Reminds me of that new Bon Jovi song [in case you haven't noticed, yet: yes, I absolutely do manage to mention Bon Jovi in relation to any topic whatsoever]: It’s the same old story, but it’s told a different way. The more things change the more the same.

You get so much more done when you just allow yourself to write rather than to plan every single word.

I see this as my very first draft of a story I am going to edit some time after November 2010 and could possibly be showing to other people at some stage – and this allows me to write whatever comes to my mind, without any need for plans or schedules, because I know that if what I write doesn’t make any sense after all, I can still edit it later on…

As for the amount of what I am writing… according to the stats counter on my NaNoWriMo profile, I am going to achieve 50.000 words on November 27, if I continue writing at that speed. Yay. Looks good.

The lovely Grace from Looks Great Naked commented on last week’s monday morning message and pointed out another great quote related to writing, which I would also like to share here:

“I never know what I think until I write it down.” ~ Joan Didion

So true!

Now, to all NaNoWriMo participants out there: Have a great second week, don’t give up, always keep going, whatever happens!

And I wish everyone else a lovely second week of November! Are you in Christmas mood, yet? I certainly am, especially since I discovered that Oxford St is all lit up with lovely Christmas lights…

Sabrina

P.S.: If you are trying to write 50k until the end of this month, let me know how you are getting on!

Leave a Reply

