Chocolate Truffels | WEEKEND WIND UP #27

This week I took one important step towards my future career as a journalistic baker/baking journalist.

For the very first time I made my own truffles!

The recipe I’d like to share today requires very little work but takes a few days anyway: Chocolate Truffles.

The original recipe which inspired me to come up with my own version is from an issue of the amazing BBC Good Food series and as much as I love these BBC recipes, I have to say that with this particular one I found that – at least for me – it needed some minor improvements.

My experience shows: it says at the end “chill until firm“, I’d expect until firm t0 mean a couple of hours, but in fact a couple of days would be more likely.

But anyway, let’s not get caught up in my interpretation of things, here is how I made my truffles:

  • 300 ml cream
  • 60 g butter (unsalted)
  • 300 g chocolate
  • approx. 3 tbsp. Whiskey
  • cocoa powder/lightly toasted desiccated cocnut

1. Gently heat the cream, add butter and wait until it melts.

2. Chop chocolate.

3. Pour cream/butter mix over chopped chocolate and stir until smooth.

4. Add Whiskey to taste (or leave plain, but I’d recommend a little Whiskey – the taste is just so much better!)

5. Put a lid on the bowl and leave in fridge for a while (at least over night). {I highlighted that because this is one of the things I always seem to overread when I discover new recipes and then I’m running out of time because I didn’t expect it to take that long and then I get myself into trouble…}


6. Use two teaspoons to shape little truffles & roll them gently (and immediately after shaping) in cocoa powder or coconut.

7. Chill truffles on parchment until firm (as I said: two days rather than two hours).

Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Chocolate Truffels | WEEKEND WIND UP #27

  1. Pingback: Basic truffles | coffeerocketfairytale

  2. Hey lorchick, stacey@Havoc&Mayhem, Ana Amaral., LBDDiaries and Ms. Dawn, thanks so much for stopping by and leaving such lovely comments!

    To answer your question, Ana, it technically should be dark chocolate (like, the BBC says, 70% cocoa at least!) but since I don’t like dark chocolate too much either, I just put milk chocolate and dark chocolate together.

    Now I hope you all have lots of fun making your own truffles! Make sure to give me notice on how they turn out!

    xx Sabrina

  3. Stopping by from the Lady Bloggers Tea Party….NOT a good idea since I’m SUPPOSED to be on a diet. *sigh* Diet on hold until further notice. YUM!!!!

  4. Here I am, just visiting from LB Tea Party and I get truffles – yay! I love truffles! I am so glad you posted this recipe – I will try it!

  5. This recipe looks so simple, I’ll definitely be trying it out soon! Just one question – should it be dark or milk chocolate? I’m not really a fan of dark chocolate, but I know a lot of recipes ask for it. Which did you use?

    Stopped off here from the Tea Party – I’ll definitely be coming back :)

    A.x

  6. YUM. I think I would end this recipe somewhere after Add Whiskey, and then you’d find me licking chocolate off the spoon in my closet. Hi from the Lady Bloggers Tea Party!

Leave a Reply

