Under the influence …of lemon

I am in a really good mood lately and some might say that’s because of the weather, but I reckon it’s because I’m – involuntarily and not quite in a Charlie Sheen kind of way – under the influence.

So before I go on telling you about my new awesome self-made shoes, I need to explain something here.

Firstly, I’d like to stress one word here: involuntarily. Meaning: it wasn’t planned.

Let me explain: My brother is a chef and owns a restaurant and the other day he had to cater at a function in the civic centre of our little town.

Anyway, so Mum used her car to bring some of the food over to the civic centre and accidentally spilled some yogurth sauce all over the back of the car.

So Mum and my brother tried to get rid of it and my brother came with this “miraculous” spray a plumber once gave him – whatever, I don’t even know what it was supposed to be good for, but they put it on and successfully managed to cover the yoghurt smell.

Now there’s lemon smell all over the car and that wouldn’t be too bad (unless – like me – you don’t like lemons)…

But that lemon smell has side effects – when Mum and I drove into town the other day, we hysterically broke out laughing at the most random things.

We found the most boring things funny as heck and I kind of suspect it has to do with that spray…

Other than that I have also been exposed to a lot of glue lately and we all know what side effects that can have.

But the glue was kind of my own fault, because I have been making these:

You may have noticed that I am totally obsessed with comic books/strips/things these days and a few weeks ago I had comic shoes taken into my mind.

In search of shoes with comic motives, I drove around the entire borough and didn’t find a single shoe that was even just close to cartoons or something like that.

So when searching the internet for comic shoes, I only came across self-made comic shoes – and decided to make a pair myself.

And here’s what I did:

1. I got myself a pair of white ballerinas.

2. And a comic book. I wanted Superman and because “Superman in the Sixties” was the best, amazon could come up with within three days, I bought “Superman in the Sixties”.

3. And some Mod Podge (didn’t even know some magical stuff like that existed – in Germany it’s not very known of) and a brush and a pair of scissors and then I started cutting out some pictures and motives. And started sticking them onto the shoes (starting at the back).

4. And so on, layer on layer on layer until the whole shoe was covered. Then I added some “CCCRRRRAAAASSHHHH” and “ZIIIINNNNGGGG” and things like that and some cut out characters and then applied about six or seven layers of Mod Podge.

5. And finally I added some sparkling, glittery sequins.

6. Some final layers of Mod Podge and – done.

7. Okay, one last thing: it might be useful to coat them with some sort of spray or something to make them waterproof. Just in case…

31 thoughts on “Under the influence …of lemon

  1. Thank you for stopping by! I would definitely recommend applying protective laquer before wearing them outside. (Silly me, I didn’t do that because I was too impatient and wanted to wear them as soon as possible. That day was quite rainy, too, so I ended up starting from scratch… 😃).

  2. Thank you! I just started using Mod Podge for this project and I have to say I’m pretty impressed. Have to figure out how to fix the little cracks, though. (After wearing them the first day, I realised the layers cracked just about where you flex your toes, on the left and right…)

  3. those shoes are pretty darn amazing- I’ve used Mod-Podge all my life (have a container of it right beside my keyboard as I type this) never tried it with shoes or any wearable art for that matter.

  4. Hi Dee, thanks for visiting and thank you so much for the link! The hat looks awesome!

  5. Hey April, thanks for visiting and make sure to show me pictures of your shoes, if you make a pair yourself!

  6. Hello! I’m swinging by from Lady Bloggers Society, and I am so glad I swung by your blog!! I adore these shoes, so creative! I’m not very crafty at all, but I think I might have to make some of these!

  7. Thank you, Anne, and thank you, Classic NYer! Haha, yeah, it certainly lightened our mood a lot, that lemon stuff. But I found out now that apparently you spray it on such stains, but then you also have to use a cloth or something and rub it off again. My Mum and my brother obviously skipped that second part and that’s probably why that penetrating lemon smell stayed in the car… and made us very funny. :)

  8. Oh, that’s just fantastic… I absolutely adore those shoes, and I’m not even that into comics, haha!

    Btw, whatever that lemon-scented stuff was, I’m sure I could use a whiff every now and again.

    Stopping by from LBS!

  9. Hi Holly, hi Yenta Mary, nice to see you here! Thank you for the nice comments and yes: go and try it and then you will definitely have to send me pictures of how they turned out!
    Be aware though, that you will need lots and lots of layers of Mod Podge and I would also suggest to only wear them on special occasions… Unfortunately, I have to say: I have learned my lesson.

    Looking forward to hearing more from you (this applies to everyone, by the way! I really appreciate your comments and every single one of them makes me very happy indeed!)

  10. Thank you Lauri, make sure to put heaps and heaps of Mod Podge on them, though. (I sound as if I’d get provision, but I don’t I just made the experience that they really need much more layers than I thought). Thank you for visiting, too!

  11. OMG how cute! I am totally going to make myself a pair of these. What a great idea. I’m from the Lady Blogger’s Society. I’ll be back to visit. :-)

  12. Thank you, Sherree, I’m delighted to hear that you and your daughter like the idea! You definitely have to send me a picture of how they turned out when you made them yourselves!

  13. I just showed the picture of your shoes to my 17 year old daughter and she said that she would love to have some. So I told her that we would have to make some. Thanks so much for sharing. I have come by way of the “Lady Blogger Tea Party”.

  14. Thanks, I have to admit I’m very proud of how they turned out!
    *lol* I always get that with cute things like stamps or even stickers. Too cute to use. I’m kind of afraid to wear these shoes, too, because – what if it starts raining and it turns out that’s not so good after all? I don’t know if that’s the case, but I don’t really want to try, either.

  15. Your shoes are AWESOME!! I bought some cartoon stamps at the post office a few years back then found I couldn’t use them ’cause they were just too cool to look at!

Leave a Reply

