Summer treat & party pizzazz | WEEKEND WIND UP #38

Last year it was passionfruit, this year it’s mango.

My favourite summer fruit varies from year to year (it used to be strawberries, but then I made about 20 strawberry cakes on one day and that was the end of my strawberry love).

So now it’s mango.

One problem I had to learn how to deal with was how to cut a mango in pieces.

Basically, you cut the fruit lengthwise, then crisscross the fruit pulp and then turn it inside out.

(There’s a long, but relatively thin pit in the middle of the fruit, so it works best if you divide it in thirds, so that you have to thirds of fruit pulp and one third would be the pit.)

And then it looks like this:

Summer is not only mango time, though.

It’s also a great season for parties, barbecues with friends, spontaneous get-togethers with friends, picnic trips…

Whatever the occasion, I always like having “a little something” prepared.

One great snack idea your guests will love is to make bite-sized filo pastry turnovers:

For a delicious little snack (makes about 50) you need: 

500 g filo pastry

350 g chicken filet

100 g ham 

6 – 8 spring onions 

1 tablespoon flour

2 tablespoons butter

3/4 l vegetable stock 

Cut the chicken filet and ham in little squares, the spring onions in little rings. Melt 1 tablespoon butter, add spring onions, ham and chicken. When cooked, add vegetable stock. 

In a second pot, melt rest of the butter, add flour (roux). Add to chicken/ham/onion mix and stir well. Season to taste. 

Simmer for at least 10 minutes. 

Cut filo pastry in little squares and use it to lay out a mini muffin tin. Fill with chicken/ham/onion mix and bring the corners together, so that each looks like a little package. 

Bake at 180°C for about 20 minutes. Enjoy! 

Obviously, you can fill these with anything you like, savoury or sweet, whatever comes to your mind.

Along with cake, these little pastry snacks are my favourite party snacks.

What are your favourite party recipes? 

6 thoughts on “Summer treat & party pizzazz | WEEKEND WIND UP #38

  1. Thanks for the lovely comments, girls! Haha, ClassicNYer, I would slice them for you… but I would also eat them for you! ;)

  2. Ugh… I hate slicing mangoes… they must be my least favorite fruit to cook with for that reason… but if someone else slices them for me, we’re in business, haha!

  3. Great idea with the phyllo… will have to try that. We serve chicken skewers with mango and a cinnamon marinade. It’s always a hit. Stopping by from the Lady Blogger Tea Party. Thanks for sharing. Stacie

  4. Neither did I actually, although I always wondered why the mangos looked different, every time I bought one…

    Oh that sounds delicious! Next time I buy a mango I will not only look up what type it is but also try it with blueberries and crystallized ginger! Thanks for sharing, Grace!

  5. I had no idea there were so many kinds of mangos. I once read that a mango has all the nutrients a body needs in a day, which is kind of good to know.

    I’m also with you on not being able to cut one well. Then again, I don’t cut anything well.

    Here’s a great way to eat mangos: cut one up (evenly or not), add blueberries and some crystallized ginger. It’s delicious.

Leave a Reply

