Cake-sicle craziness

Yesterday I finally made some more cake-sicles!

Last time I made chocolate-flavoured popsicles, this time I decided to make white ones – and created my very own recipe.

It makes 8 popsicle cakes & 12 cupcakes and the secret ingredient I used (and which will not be secret anymore once I hit the publish button on the right) is the nut mix.

For the nut mix, I ground 250 g almonds, mix them with 180 g confectioner’s sugar, then spread the mix on a baking sheet and baked at 130°C for about 10 – 15 minutes.

For the cake-sicles and cupcakes I used:

  • 125 g butter
  • 125 g super-fine sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 250 g flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 75 g milk
  • 20 g buttermilk
  • 3 tablespoons nut mix

The rest is history  super-easy.

Just as with any other muffin or cupcake recipe, you first beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy, then add the eggs.

Beat well, then add the remaining ingredients.

Grease your tins (or line them with little paper cases), fill the dough into the molds and put the cake-sicle tray and the muffin mold into the oven.

About 15 – 20 minutes at 180°C should be fine.

I let them cool on a wire rack, then coated the cake-sicles in white chocolate and used the rest to top the cupcakes.

Some chocolate and sugar sprinkles put the finishing touches on my little goodies and the very last spoonful of white chocolate I used to fill some macaron shells I made the other day.

What is your favourite cupcake recipe? 

6 thoughts on “Cake-sicle craziness

  1. Pingback: Home-made chocolate swirls and Honey Nut Bees | coffeerocketfairytale

  2. Pingback: Cupcake Fondue | WEEKEND WIND UP #53 | coffeerocketfairytale

  3. Pingback: Popsicle Business | coffeerocketfairytale

  4. Pingback: It’s a kind of magic | coffeerocketfairytale

  5. *lol* Thank you, Bella! I think a glass of milk would taste super-delicious with some popsicle cakes…

  6. I seriously wish I had the patience and creativity to come up with recipes such as this! What a work of art your cupcake popsicles! I took one look at the photos and thought, oh my goodness! Suddenly I was wishing for a glass of cold milk to accompany them! :)

Leave a Reply

