Finale ohooo, Finale ohooooo! | WEEKEND WIND UP#48

You may have noticed by now that the one thing I tend to wax lyrical about is New Zealand.

I love this country so much and today my inner Kiwi has more than one reason to cheer.

 

 

The All Blacks, the NZ rugby team, just won against arch-enemy Australia in the semi-final of the rugby world cup!

(Ha! Aussies, that’s what you got for not giving me any coffee on my stopover on the way to Welly when I was in need!)

Also, I just found out that my Kiwi sister (from my NZ host family) got engaged! Congratulations!

I have been waiting for a suitable occassion to share this recipe of my Black Velvet All Blacks’ Velvet Cheesecake and I think I just leave it up to you which occassion you want to celebrate with this cake…

All Blacks’ Velvet Cheesecake:

For the cheesecake layer, mix

200 g quark

170 g cream cheese

150 g sour cream

125 g sugar (& some vanilla-flavoured sugar)

1 egg

and pour the mixture into a round springform tin. Bake at 180°C for approximately half an hour.

In the meantime you can mix the ingredients for the Black Velvet Cake:

45 g cooking oil

1 egg

1 cup espresso

1 pinch of salt

240 g buttermilk

200 g flour

2 tablespoons baking soda

1 tablespoon baking powder

40 g cocoa powder

180 g sugar

It’s best to first mix the wet ingredients and then add the dry ingredients until everything is evenly combined.

Then pour the mixture into either the springform tin you used for the cheesecake layer or another tin of the same size.

Bake at 180°C for about 40 minutes, let cool and dust with icing sugar.

By the way, it was the lovely Erin who first put a cheesecake layer in the middle of another cake when she made her fabulous Chocolate Peanut Butter Cheesecake which inspired my All Blacks Velvet Cake. (You will notice that the ingredients are almost the same, but I’ve changed the amounts and proportions to make a more velvety cake…).

Now, I’ve put my flag up and continue my rugby celebrations now… see you later!

4 thoughts on “Finale ohooo, Finale ohooooo! | WEEKEND WIND UP#48

  1. Pingback: So we won | coffeerocketfairytale

  2. Yup, that’s what we are talking about. Some call it curd cheese, I think, or fromage blanc and it’s basically what you just described, Bella, something in between yogurt and cream cheese.

  3. Lady, not only do I love the enthusiasm in this post, I am in awe of this cheesecake! Which, if I may say, I have never seen until today! Oh my goodness! Talk about a chocolate craving! Add to that delicious cheesecake, and we have a winner! Ding, ding, ding! Just one question. By quark, do you mean the thick plain cheese type yogurt?

Leave a Reply

