monday morning message #13

The hero was distinguished by his achievement; the celebrity by his image or trademark. The hero created himself; the celebrity is created by the media. The hero was a big man; the celebrity is a big name. ~ Daniel J. Boorstin


I chose this quote, because celebrities are my job. I write about them eight hours a day, five days a week, four weeks a month.

Most of the time, whatever they do is as insignificant as possible, but because it’s them who do it, it matters to some people.

Why do we admire celebrities so much? Why do some people care so much about what all these “stars” are up to? Wouldn’t it be much more important to live our lives and care more about the ones we love? Our families?

I came across another quote I wanted to share with you, but for a totally different reason.


I always read the last page of a book first so that if I die before I finish I’ll know how it turned out. ~ Nora Ephron


When I first read that quote, I laughed, but then it also made me think. If we’d die in the middle of reading a book (or watching a movie for that matter), would we really be bothered about not knowing it’s outcome? Wouldn’t we have to deal with… let’s say… bigger problems? Or would we maybe even find a way to finish off the book after we have left this world?

I don’t think anyone will have an answer to that, but it keeps me wondering anyway.

What do you think?



10 thoughts on “monday morning message #13

  1. @sabrinadankel
    yup it’s best to be known for one’s achievement rather than adornment.🙂

    as to your comments please try checking your Settings then tick Discussion, find Other Comments Setting and tick ‘older’ in Comments should be displayed with…’

    See if this is easier to track back the communications. Enjoy the day! 🙂

  2. @bendedspoon
    I actually don’t have any favourites… I hate doing stories on celebrities who are just famous for… you know, either because of their parents or family members or simply because they are rich and did so many nasty things that they are in the news all the time as “socialites”… I prefer doing stories on people who have achieved something that justifies them being famous. Like Michael Douglas. He is a great actor and deserves being famous. And he’s up-front about things, and honest. So he’s be one person I enjoy writing about.
    P.S.: I realise what you meant about the comments, but I’m not quite sure if I can change it…

  3. So true! Mind you, there are a lot of people out there who really really care about what celebrities do. I mean, like, REALLY care. Not just read about it and that’s it, more like religiously following celebrity magazines to see what all the singers, actors and Reality-TV-Stars are up to… Not exactly my cup of tea, but on the other hand I’m quite thankful, because I wouldn’t have a job otherwise. Haha

  4. @sabrinadankel
    i laughed at the thought
    of preoccupying ourselves with celebrities.
    i laugh at the book quote
    because if what matters is the ending
    then no need to read the rest.
    time to move on to another book — ending.
    there i’m laughing again🙂

  5. @bendedspoon
    Did you laugh about the first quote or the second? Or both? I personally laughed my head of when I read the second quote! What a reason to read the ending of a book first! I buy books for the joy of reading, too, and even though the ending does matter to me, it’s not all about that. It’s about the story.

  6. ahaha!
    great quotes combi
    i am ready to contemplate
    but i have to laugh first!
    why celebrities?
    maybe because it’s easier
    to make a hero or a fool
    out of other people
    than that of ourselves.
    is that cowardice or malice?
    as for the book
    i am not curious about the ending
    because it is
    good or bad
    happy or sad
    i buy books
    for the joy of reading
    and appreciating the mind behind.
    thanks for the laugh
    and great thoughts!🙂

  7. Pingback: C’me on everybody, let’s twist and shout! | WEEKEND WIND UP #13 « coffeerocketfairytale

  8. @x Corrine/Frock & Roll x
    Thanks for sharing your opinion! It is crazy, you are right, I think, but another aspect is that we sometimes need idols to look up to, heroes who show us that the impossible can be possible sometimes. Maybe that’s why celebs play such a role in our society…

  9. I COMPLETELY agree. There are so many people achieving amazing things out there (people who complete major operations! People who live on next to nothing!), yet we repeatedly reward and focus on celebrities. C-r-a-z-y!

Leave a Reply

