monday morning message #19

“Be yourself. Above all, let who you are, what you are, what you believe, shine through every sentence you write, every piece you finish.”
John Jakes

✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍ ✍

Good morning everybody,

so today is November 1, the day I have awaited for so long. NaNoWriMo starts and I am absolutely excited. I only heard about it last year, half way through November, when it was definitely too late to start, so after waiting for almost a year, I feel that I am now ready to write me first novel.

Actually, when I was about 14 I wrote something for my friends at school to read. It got me through school, I guess. I would write in the short breaks between classes and at home (after I had done the homework, of course) and every morning my friends would eagerly await the new chapter of the story. And after 190 handwritten pages, I decided to type and get them into the computer. And then the computer broke. And that was that.

I never managed to write a piece that long ever since.

I started so many chapters which could, one day, turn into great stories, but I never found the inspiration to go along with the story.

For NaNoWriMo, I still don’t have a clue what to do, except that I want to try something completely new. So maybe I just use one of these plot creators that give you a scenario to start with…

The monday morning messages this week will be all about writing – to stick with the theme of November and to keep myself motivated.

If you are also participating in NaNoWriMo, or if you ever have, think about it or just want to say something to motivate me, please do so, I think I can need every possible support!

And now… let the games begin!

Have a fairytaleicious first week of November, everyone!

Sabrina

“Writing is an exploration. You start from nothing and learn as you go.”
E.L. Doctorow

2 thoughts on “monday morning message #19

  1. That is a really great quote, indeed. And so true! My story so far is nothing like what I thought it would be like before I started. All of a sudden, my protagonist seems to turn into my antagonist and the story just turns out to be something completely different…

  2. I love this quote from Joan Didion: “I never know what I think until I write it down.” I think it’s really cool what comes up (or I guess what goes down on paper) when you actually sit down and just start writing.

Leave a Reply

