I’m done… with writing 1.667 words per day

“Writing a book is an adventure. To begin with, it is a toy and an amusement; then it becomes a mistress, and then it becomes a master, and then a tyrant. The last phase is that just as you are about to be reconciled to your servitude, you kill the monster, and fling him out to the public.”
Winston Churchill

I’m not quite ready to “fling him out to the public” – but guess what! NaNoWriMo has officially ended! At least for me.

I reached the 50k today, two days before the final deadline – and didn’t even realise it!

I was so busy figuring out my plot, I didn’t even notice that I had written slightly more than 50.000 words.

Here are the pros about NaNoWriMo being over

  • I can have a life again (but then again: which life?)
  • I can get enough sleep again
  • I don’t feel pressured to write 1,667 words per day anymore
  • My blog posts, tweets and facebook status updates will finally be about something else than word count again
  • I can finally concentrate of other things again – meaning: I can finally concentrate on catching up on other things than word count again (like my diary which is still stuck somewhere in April)

But there are also downsides:

  • I have reached 50k within the deadline – but my novel isn’t finished yet
  • I might lack motivation, now that I have officially reached my goal
  • There is no “blue line” in my stats counter anymore that encourages me to write just a liiiittle bit more – in fact, there isn’t even a stats counter anymore
  • I do not have a legitimate reason for watching late night TV anymore
  • My coffee-intake will have to go back, too, as there is no legitimate reason for that, either

“I lived to write, and wrote to live”
Samuel Rogers

You know what I am going to do now?

Bake Christmas cookies, finally finish reading “Life” by Keith Richards, write my diary, email friends that haven’t heard from me in ages, post regularly on my blogs (at least so I plan), get very creative ideas for Christmas presents, crochet again, draw, paint…

But first, I need to write another 317 words, otherwise I won’t make it to the average 1.667…

One thought on “I’m done… with writing 1.667 words per day

  1. Pingback: Yet another writing challenge | coffeerocketfairytale

Leave a Reply

