Recipe for childhood memories | WEEKEND WIND UP #21

It’s less than a week until Christmas, so it’s time to do some serious Christmas baking.

Baking a huge variety of special Christmas cookies for the festive season is an important tradition where I come from.

Most families do it and even though most bake the same type of cookies, each family has sort of like an own recipe and a unique way of making it, so sharing your recipes with other people can be so much fun, as you think you know the cookies – but then they taste different.

When I was little, I would always help Mum with the Christmas baking and in one year we had 21 different types of cookies.

At work, when scanning German websites for some breaking news, I came across one article by a German tabloid newspaper which lifted the secret of Pope Benedict‘s favourite Christmas-cookie-recipe.

So with Xmas coming up, I thought it was a nice touch and worth to share:

So, as you can see, they are called “Butterblümchen” and I remember that my late Grandma used to make them at Christmas time, too.

So what is says here is that you need:

  • 300g plain flour
  • 185g butter
  • 90g sugar
  • 3 egg yolks

You mix it together and let it rest for a little while. Later on, you roll it (works best in between to sheets of cling film), use flower-shaped cookie cutters to cut the cookies (note to self: yeah, Sabrina, that is obvious!) and place them on a baking sheet. Bake at a medium temperature and sprinkle with caster sugar.

I haven’t tried them myself yet, but as mentioned before, my Nana used to make these, too, and I remember how delicious they were! Certainly worth a try!

Do you traditionally do some Christmas baking? What are your Christmas traditions?

5 thoughts on “Recipe for childhood memories | WEEKEND WIND UP #21

  1. Pingback: Christmasicle | WEEKEND WIND UP #55 | coffeerocketfairytale

  2. @kamil
    Thanks for stopping by! Most Christmas cookie recipes from Germany are pretty basic in terms of ingredients. You just mix it all together and the special part comes later. They either vary in shapes or decoration, some of them are with jelly or marmalade or dusted with sugar or cinnamon… lot’s of variation going on there, but it all comes down to very basic principles.

  3. that was a very easy way to follow how to bake cookies… I don’t know anything about baking cookies or baking anything… but I wanna give it a try someday…

  4. @Colletta Miller
    Wow, that sounds yummy! Hope they turned out well.

    I will definitely go and see if I can find it. I love the song “White Christmas” by Bing Crosby, but until now I didn’t know there was a film, too. Thanks for the tip!

  5. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m getting ready to make some Christmas cookies this afternoon. Date Walnut and Chocolate Peanut Butter Ritz’s.

    You’ll have to see if you can find White Christmas and give it a try. For me, its just not Christmas without White Christmas!

Leave a Reply

