Superman Tonight | WEEKEND WIND UP #24

What does a real-life radio host have to do with Kryptonite, the substance that can do harm to indestructible Superman?

Today I found out.

While doing some research for a story I wrote at work, I was scrolling through Wikipedia and found this interesting line, a piece of information I wasn’t aware of:

Isn’t that weird?

Kryptonite is probably one of the things that come first to my mind when I think of Superman – and then it turns out it was just invented to give a radio host a break? Hm.

Superheroes are experiencing a comeback this year.

Not only this year, actually, it started in autumn last year (‘Scott Pilgrim VS The World’, ‘Tron Legacy’), really and the super-hero-boom will at least continue until 2012.

Yet to come are movies like ‘Thor’, ‘X Men: First Class’, ‘Green Lantern’, ‘The Avengers’, ‘The Dark Knight Rises’, ‘Superman: Man of Steel’…

Exploring the current hero-hype further, I found these:

COMIC SHOES {via weheartit.com/tumblr.com}

Very cool, indeed!

Another comic-related story I came across recently is a book a friend of mine recommended I should read and I definitely put it on my list of books I’m going to purchase next time I’m down at the bookstore: “The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay”.

Since I haven’t read it, I obviously can’t tell you much about it, but the fact that my friend has just bought her 9th copy – because she loves it so much that she gives it away to other people so that they can enjoy reading it – is reason enough for me to trust her judgement.

And on that note, I also have two other “books” on my wish list, I want to tell you about.

My favourite author (Janet Evanovich who created the amazing “Stephanie Plum”-series) has recently started to give graphic novels a shot and came up with this:

TROUBLE MAKER: J. Evanovich's graphic novels.

Some of you may also remember a tool I discovered and tested back in July, which allows you to create your own comic-style super-hero.

And if you still haven’t got enough of all these distinctive dressed, flying, energy bolt tossing characters, here are some links for you:

 

4 thoughts on “Superman Tonight | WEEKEND WIND UP #24

  1. Pingback: Under the influence …of lemon | coffeerocketfairytale

  2. Pingback: Under the influence …of lemon « coffeerocketfairytale

  3. Thanks for visiting, Trace! There is definitely more to come to look forward to!😉

Leave a Reply

