Coffee cupcakes

It’s about time to talk about coffee here, don’t you think?

After all, the name of this blog was inspired by my passion for the “indulgence of the gods”.

Coffee is awesome if you have a craving for a caffeinated hot beverage – but it’s also a great ingredient for your baking.

My personal favourite cupcakes (despite my fairytaleicious caupcakes à la Sabrina, to which I have referred to on this blog a number of times already) are caffe latte cupcakes.

The original recipe was from a Dr. Oetkerbook I had been given to my birthday ages ago but once again I’ve changed it to suit my purpose: get lots of coffee and a cake – all in one.

So I call them coffee cupcakes now (because they contain more coffee than the original caffe latte ones) and if you want give it a try yourself, here is what you do:

  1. Mix 150g butter, 125g sugar (plus some vanilla sugar if you have any – if not you could also use a few drops of vanilla essence but neither is absolutely necessary), 2 eggs, 125ml milk,  200g flour, 3 teaspoons baking powder and 50g melted white chocolate.
  2. Then fill about 1/2 of the dough into a prepared muffin/cupcake tin. (As you can see below, I’m using a cupcake mold made of silicone and additionally silicone cases instead of paper cases. Why? Easier to use, reusable and looks beautiful!)

  3. Add some cocoa powder (I’d say about 4 tablespoons), two cups of freshly brewed espresso(or one cup of coffee) and some more flour. You’ll probably need about five or six tablespoons.

  4. Fill the dark dough on top of the white dough and bake at 160°C for about 20 – 25 minutes.

  5. Melt another 70g of white chocolate, add some cooking oil and spoon mixture over cold cupcakes.

  6. Decorate with little mocca beans, chocolate covered coffee beans or other little things.

  7. Enjoy and don’t get too excited about the awesome coffee flavour! (Or put them in a box and keep them save for later…)


6 thoughts on “Coffee cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Pix’ Blog anniversary | WEEKEND WIND UP #38 | coffeerocketfairytale

  2. Hi Kirsty,

    no, it’s not just the camera angle, but I actually prefer them to look like this. I experimented a lot but wasn’t too impressed by the results… This way, they look a bit like little volcanoes, especially witht he white chocolate, so I’m happy with how they look like, but if you don’t want to have that effect, you could simply fill the dark dough in first and have them the other way round to have equally shaped cupcakes.
    By the way, you can make them without the caffeine – simply use a bit more milk instead of the espresso and you should be fine. In that case, I would suggest to use a bit more cocoa for more chocolate flavour.
    Enjoy and let me know how they turned out!

  3. This looks like an awesome recipe. I can’t have caffiene, but they are definitely going to be baked for a friend.

    One question: it appears as though your cupcakes are a bit wonky on top. Would you suggest putting a smidge of baking powder in the second mixture as well to counterbalance that extra weight of cocoa, flour and coffee and let it rise evenly? Or is that just the camera angle?

  4. Thank you, ladies, for stopping by and leaving such lovely comments!
    @Classic NYer:I hope you enjoy them! And as for the ideas… it all just happened because I didn’t have all the ingredients for something I wanted to bake. So I changed the recipe slightly. And that happened a number of times with so many different recipes that now most of the time I use original recipes usually only as a guideline but almost always change them in some way or another.

    @Meagan: Thank you for sharing. Join the coffeerocketfairytale Facebook fan page, if you want. Also, you can find me on twitter (see right bar).

Leave a Reply

