Vintage Baking

Ah, my life would be so boring, if my Mum didn’t look after me and gave me things to do…

This week, for instance, she assigned me a “voluntary extra task” (her words, not mine): bringing order into Grandma’s collection of recipes.

My birthday is coming up next week and so I asked Nana if she could possible make her signature chocolate cake (especially because she is the only one in the family who has the recipe otherwise I would have made it myself).

Now, Nana is not the youngest anymore and couldn’t quite remember which chocolate cake I meant… so we had to go through all her recipes.

And you can imagine that a woman at the age of 70-something has quite a collection…

To cut a long story short: Mum came to the conclusion that someone (aka her daughter aka myself) had to put some sort of order into all these recipes.

That was after we had come across “Lotte’s savarin” six times and “Aloisia’s cough syrup” (no kidding, those recipes really exist in Nana’s collection) five times – before even coming close to the chocolate cake recipe we were looking for.

So that’s my “voluntary extra task”: To type all the recipes into the computer, print them out and put them back into Nana’s recipe book.

It’s quite fun, though, because so far I’ve written down about 30 recipes and came across quite a few cakes I would like to try and make myself.

So after all the typing will be done, I might take some of the recipes into the kitchen and see what happens…

5 thoughts on “Vintage Baking

  1. Pingback: How I made a nana cake and almost burned down the house… « coffeerocketfairytale

  2. Cinnamon, I’m happily volunteering indeed.🙂 It’s good fun! And thanks for stopping by, by the way!

    Renée, my favourite comment I found so far was “2 teaspoons bakingpowder… or maybe 4”. Very helpful for someone who hasn’t made the cake yet. Especially because there’s no headline to it so technically I don’t even know what sort of cake I’m talking about here. And no – I’m going to keep them. The idea is just to make reading easier for grandma, because some of the handwritten pieces are much-thumbed and the writing is very pale.

    Jenn, I absolutely agree. It’s great to connect via old recipes. I just came across an old recipe my other grandma (who passed away when I was little) used to make. It was her signature cake on birthdays and yesterday I tried to make one myself and I feel so much connected to her now because with the taste of the cake a lot of memories from my early childhood come back.

    Thank you all so very much for visiting, ladies!

  3. You’re so fortunate to have your Nana’s recipes. I treasure the recipes that have been passed down in my family, and think it’s a really amazing way to connect the generations by working from the same written records that those who came before us used. Enjoy!!!

    Thank you so much for visiting me at Rook No. 17!

    Jenn

  4. Hello Lady Blogger! I also got my grandmother’s recipe book, and I had so much fun looking at all her little comments. “Needs more liquor” (in the sugar cookies) and “not the big hit I’d hoped it to be” (on her asparagus casserole) made me laugh. We still make the cookie recipe with the suggested adjustments for alcohol.😉 Grandma knew best.

    Still, I hope you don’t plan to throw away her handwritten scribbles. They are treasures!

Leave a Reply

