Pix’ Blog anniversary | WEEKEND WIND UP #38

“Show me something that means a lot to you.”

That’s all Pixelschubser.in is asking for.

She celebrates her blog anniversary (congrats, by the way!) with a giveaway and a contest and although I usually don’t like blogging about other people’s giveaways, the topic was just too tempting this time.

Her question would make the perfect blog post.

At least that’s what I thought – before I realised that showing you something that means a lot to me is not as easy as it may seem at first.

Bon Jovi, New Zealand, typewriters and my cat were the things that came instantly to my mind when I thought about it.

BUT…

I really don’t want to annoy you with my Bon Jovi ramblings any longer.

I have gone on and on and on about it and after all I don’t want you to roll with your eyes, say goodbye and never come back again.

So no Bon Jovi.

Everyone knows how crazy I am about New Zealand so it’s basically no new revelation if I tell you that I’m obsessed with that country.

The typewriter I was thinking about…

Well, the thing is that I don’t actually own the typewriter of my dreams, so it wouldn’t be right to refer to it as something that means much to me.

Finally, my cat. He passed away last summer and although he is probably the closest to my heart someone or something could possibly get he is not here anymore…

I could go on with my list forever, but I quickly came to another conclusion.

The one thing I really need in my life is… Tatatatataaaaa…

I spent half a week trying to draw something. Didn't work out, but hopefully you appreciate the effort I put into using image editing! ^^

COFFEE.

(No! Who would have thought?)

(Well, technically, I should say: coffee and music, but that makes two things and since I’m still Bon Jovi-heartbroken, music doesn’t really count, right!?)

Now, it might seem a bit eccentric to opt for coffee here, but please let me explain.

They make the best coffee in Wellington. That is a fact and not debatable. And also my New Zealand connection.

A famous quote by Jon Bon Jovi goes: “Never start the day without a cup of coffee. Never leave the house without a pair of sunglasses. And never ever own a mini van.” And that’s my Bon Jovi connection. (And yes, I know quotes like that by heart. Never underestimate such knowledge, though, you never know when you might need it. Next time you think about buying a mini van, for example. – Also, yes, I realise that I wasn’t going to use Bon Jovi as an argument. But what shall I say? I’m infected. So all I can say is: Get Richie or die trying.)

The smell and taste of coffee also reminds me of a very special person. Probably the love of my life – but that’s a different story.

Drinking coffee makes me feel connected to this person and despite the heartache (yes, I might have self-destructive tendencies, sometimes, but don’t worry, it’s not as bad as it sounds) it also brings back great memories.

Plus: the smell of coffee is awesome. Ha!

✩ ✩ ✩

Is there a “little” thing in your life that means the world to you? Tell me about it! 

18 thoughts on “Pix’ Blog anniversary | WEEKEND WIND UP #38

  1. Pingback: It’s a… boy! | coffeerocketfairytale

  2. Thank you for visiting, Alyssa!

    Danke für’s Vorbeischauen, Anna! Und dass du dir die Mühe gemacht hast, dein “eingerostetes” Englisch zum Einsatz zu bringen! (Hättest aber ruhig auf Deutsch kommentieren können, das haben andere Leute auch schon gemacht!)😉

  3. everybody commit in english, so i have to do it, too….hm? my english is horrible, so sorry for that. at first i want to thank you for this lovely post! i really like it, as well i have to read it really slow, because my english is kind of “rust in”.

    i am able to comprehend you coffee love. i don’t like coffee, BUT i love tea! i can’t get out of my house without drinking a cup of tea!

  4. I fully approve of a love of coffee. I find it awesome that people are still into typewriters as well. I can’t decide if I would ever actually want one. Anyways, I popped over from The Lady Bloggers. I hope you have a great weekend!🙂

  5. Pingback: It’s a… boy! « coffeerocketfairytale

  6. Haha, Lizzie, I take you at your word.

    Thanks paleica, he passed away about a year ago, but we have now decided to get a little kitten again, because life is dull without a cat.

  7. Pingback: Kurz & Schmerzlos.

  8. Pingback: Gewinnspiel: Pixelschubser.in feiert!

  9. Coffee… Bon Jovi… New Zealand… I could listen to you ramble about those three things anyday of the week!😉

  10. Alexandra, that’s my rule, too.

    Karen, I absolutely agree – the smell of coffee is the best bit (although I love the taste, too, but the smell is incredible).

    Marie, Flight of the Conchords is hilarious!

    Thanks for stopping by, ladies!

  11. Bon Jovi reminds me of junior high, in a very good way; I love both the look and sound of a typewriter; and NZ’s Flight of the Conchords is probably my all time favorite folk parody group.

    But coffee? That speaks to me. Why is that? The smell, the taste, the power to open my eyes a lot & stir my thoughts a little, the evening ritual of preparing the machine and then the morning ritual of pouring that first cup…What a simple pleasrue in life. What a nice way to feel grounded and motivated at the same time.

    Love your writing, keep it up!

  12. Coffee is my one true love, too! Unless I drink too much and then I feel a little ill. But I still have to start my day with a cup of coffee– until I’ve had it, the day isn’t official.

  13. Hello Steph, Holly and Grace, thanks for visiting!

    Grace, you shouldn’t have said that – it could happen that once I get started on Bon Jovi, I never stop talking about him and his band again… Haha!

    Holly, nothing wrong with not liking coffee. Loving Bon Jovi is reason enough for me to be absolutely happy about your comment.

    Steph, I’m usually a quite positive person and find it quite easy to name a few things in my life that I can truly appreciate. That’s why I also came up with so many meaningful things, too.

  14. Greetings from The Lady Bloggers Society! Love the caffeinated candor! Cheers to the many meaningful things in our life (raising my coffee mug to you)! -Steph

  15. First let me say that I too love bon jovi! (Coffee, not so much) I enjoyed your blog and glad I stopped over from Lady Bloggers Tea Party..

Leave a Reply

