Crochet Craziness III – Some more basics

While doing all the tidying out and cleaning and everything, I took a break or two (or three or four or actually… well, you I think I get my point across).

And during that break I started a new project.

For about a year now I’ve been wanting to crochet a granny blanket – and I finally started!

Tomorrow, I’m going to show you how to crochet granny squares but before we get started we have to make sure to know the basics.

(Make sure to have a look at Crochet Craziness I, where exactly one year ago I put together a photo tutorial on how to start crocheting!)

On zzzebra, a German website for kids, I found a great tutorial for one of the most basic stitches, the double crochet:

Basically, you pull the yarn over the hook, insert the hook in the next stitch you want to work and pull the thread through the first two loops.

Then pull the yarn over the hook a second time and through the two remaining loops.

Too complicated?

Sorry, my explanatory skills might not be the best, but why not have a look at an even more detailed step-by-step guide here?

And if you need to start right at the beginning, have a look here, there is a great slideshow that explains how to start with a chain.

Luigi and I are now going back to work on some more granny squares (and granny square tutorials) to show you tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “Crochet Craziness III – Some more basics

  1. It’s really easy, Bella, you should try it! And I find it quite therapeutic, yes, and also it’s nice to have something to do while you’re listening to music or watching TV (while I watch the news I get about 2 granny squares done!). You should have a look at some of the links I posted, too, get yourself a hook and some yarn and get going – it’s so much fun!

  2. Pingback: Crochet Craziness IV – Granny Squares | WEEKEND WIND UP #42 « coffeerocketfairytale

  3. Sabrina, I love granny blankets! I wish I knew how to crochet. They say it’s so therapeutic! Or is that knitting? Anyway, I have a granny blanket my nana did and it’s one of my favorite things in the world. So retro and made with love! I’m looking forward to seeing your finished product!🙂

Leave a Reply

