Chocolate-raspberry tarte | WEEKEND WIND UP #42

Feels something like summertime…

It’s about 28°C outside, blue sky, sunshine and the perfect time for raspberry cake, the ultimate summer treat.

The traditional raspberry cake as I know it from my nana consists basically of a sponge cake base, butter cream, raspberries and glaze.

Another very delicious but relatively unusual version is a chocolate-raspberry tarte which I’d like to show you today.

The best part is that the only the cake base needs to be baked, the filling just needs to be chilled in the fridge.

For the base you can either use the same recipe as I used for my Chocolate Fudge Pie  or you can make shortcrust pastry (made out of flour, sugar, butter, egg, baking powder).

Bake it for about 15-20 minutes, let cool on a wire rack.

For the filling you need

100 ml cream 

250 g raspberries (+ some more for later) 

150 g chocolate 

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

50 g butter

Melt the butter and chocolate and add the cream. Crush the raspberries in a blender and add to the chocolate mix. Add cocoa powder, stir well and heat mixture while constantly stirring.

Pour mixture into the cake shell, top with additional raspberries, chill for several hours in the fridge.

I made a bit too much dough and filling, so I used my muffin tin (because I don’t have any other small cake tins, since I dumped my old tartelette tins the other day because they were really old and started to rust…) to make two little versions of the chocolate-raspberry tarte.

I can’t decide which cake I like best – the old-fashioned-traditional-reminds-me-of-nana one or the tarte…

Do you have a favourite summer cake recipe? 

5 thoughts on “Chocolate-raspberry tarte | WEEKEND WIND UP #42

  1. Stopping by from Lady Bloggers Tea Party! I’m definitely gonna have to try this recipe, looks delish!

  2. This looks amazing! And with all that fruit in there I could totally talk myself into thinking its healthy and eat the whole thing! Woohoo! Stopping by from the LBTP!

Leave a Reply

