The Postman Always Rings Twice

One day you dream of Pineapple Lumps in the snow, next day you get them delivered to your doorstep. Ain’t life sweet!

It seems to be down-under week here.

First I get a package from Australia, next thing I have a note in my mailbox that tells me to pay customs at my local post office for another package – from New Zealand.

The package from Oz contained this little beauty:

I first heard about the KeepCup about two years ago when I wrote a story about this eco-friendly takeaway coffee cup for The Wellingtonian.

You can imagine how much I love the fact that you can make your own colour choices out of 16.000 possible combinations – and of course I had to go for “something with pink”.

Anyway, I might do a proper product review in a couple of weeks’ time when I have tested it, but for now I can’t wait to show you what else I found in the mail.

After having paid a fortune for customes I got given this:

A wonderful, tightly wrapped, custom-checked parcel from my New Zealand host family (the family I stayed with when I was 15 and on a student exchange to NZ).

And it contained this:

Kiwiana: Six bags of Pineapple Lumps, two bags of Hokey Pokey Crunchie bars, one bag of teabags and lots of Christmas prezzies for me and my family.

And I got all of that just one day after I had dreamed of eating Pineapple Lumps in the snow.

Well, you know, I’m still waiting for the snow here but you can’t have everything at once…

2 thoughts on “The Postman Always Rings Twice

  1. Bella, I’m actually outraged (yes, outraged, I actually use that word!) about the custom fees! It’s ridiculous! Turned out there were only gifts at a total value of less than 45€ allowed – and my host family had written down a value of 100 NZ$, which is plus/minus 50€. So there were 5 bucks more than allowed – and yet I had to pay 50 (yes, FIFTY!) € custom fees. RIDICULOUS!
    Anyway, the Pineapple Lumps taste exactly just like that: Pineapple covered in chocolate. They’re very chewy and although I kind of had to get used to the unique taste at first, I really love them now.

  2. Lady, I have never heard of pineapple lumps but now I’m intrigued as to what they taste like! That pink cup of yours is a beauty! You really have to do a review post about it! And really, what is it and these European countries charging an arm and a leg for any tiny package we receive? Although in your case it wasn’t that tiny, but you know what I mean. It’s outrageous, I tell you!🙂

Leave a Reply

