Tiramisu Cupcakes and a broken rolling pin | WEEKEND WIND UP #59

My interim exams are coming up and since (amongst other things) my Danish pastry-making skills are going to be tested on Tuesday, I thought I’d do some practise at home.

Until this week this happened:

My rolling pin broke! Much to the amusement of my co-workers and pretty much everyone else who asked how my prep for the exams was going.

While they were laughing their heads off, I was actually pretty bummed because although I prefer working with mixtures (which you can simply fill in tins) rather than doughs that need to be rolled out, I started to get the hang of this whole yeast-dough-making.

The result of my very first attempt at Danish pastry a little while back.

Without a rolling pin however, I will now have to rely on the fact that two and a half attempts at Danish pastry making would be enough to pass on Tuesday.

Anyway, I still wanted to make something edible, so I whipped up soem Tiramisu Cupcakes instead:

To make these, I melted 125g butter and mixed it with 125g white sugar and 2 eggs over gentle heat. Then I carefully added 125g flour and 2 teaspoons baking powder and filled the mixture into 12 cups (you can use a muffin tin).

I put them in the oven at 170°C (about 15-20 minutes) and in the meantime made a cup of espresso to which I added 1 teaspoon sugar and a dash liquor.

After taking the cupcakes out of the oven, I used a brush to apply the espresso-mix on top, then whipped up 200g mascarpone with 50g sugar.

After cooling I applied the mascarpone and (using a self-made star stencil) sifted some cocoa powder over each cupcake.

Now enjoy your cupcakes and wish me luck on Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

