Bret and Oscar (Why I love NZ reasons 2355678-2355682)

Did you hear about it? The big news?

Bret won an Academy Award.

I don’t know if any of you are vaguely familiar with NZ hit comedy duo (and series) ‘Flight of the Conchords‘ (if not, you’re missing out big time) but I’m sure you have heard about ‘The Muppets‘, right?

Anyway, so ‘Flight of the Conchords’ star Bret McKenzie won best original song at this year’s Oscars for his contribution to the latest Muppets movie, ‘Man or Muppet’ (see NZ Herald for more on this story) and I’m sure my friends in NZ are super-excited about this.

I am, anyway, so I thought it would only be appropriate to celebrate New Zealand a bit.

This video has been around for ages now, but it still cracks me up every time I watch it – what a lovely “Wellington Love Letter”.

There are many other artists out there who want to show their love for New Zealand and Wellington, like this lady, for example.

Oh, and of course Sarah, who I know from “back in the day when I was at the star”. (Sorry, that was just a little insider joke I couldn’t resist to put in there – I actually know her from back in the day when we were journalism students in Wellington).

She has this awesome new feature on her little beautiful blog ‘You May Say I’m a Dreamer‘ called ‘WellyLove‘ and you should totally head over there and check it out. Now. RIGHT NOW.

Awesome, eh!?

And even thought the girl in the story is Sarah herself, she reminds me very much of myself too, as I used to walk the very same route when heading to campus.

Well, there are so many other things I could tell you about… so many reasons why I love New Zealand and particularly Wellington.

Honestly, I tried so hard to “forget” New Zealand, to get it out of my mind, just as I tried to “get over” coffee. Just the way you try to get over a lover who broke your heart.

I tried to give other countries a chance, England for instance – and that chapter in my life wasn’t quite what you would call “glorious”.

I know that when I’m in New Zealand, I’d most likely miss the comfort German homes have to offer (honestly, I might be biased, but in terms of insulation and central heating, German houses are seriously top of the list!), complain about the distance to my German friends, be sad about missing out on family birthdays and other celebrations and miss my hometown and my family…

But I also know that these things don’t really matter.

Kiwis – the people – are probably the most loveable nation on this planet (except for cats, maybe, and they are not a nation but a species) and their country is beautiful and I really hope that one day I will be able to go back and stay for good.

Wow, that was one moving speech, that was.

Are you as passionate about another country than the one you currently live in as I am?

Leave a Reply

