Apocalypse Cakes and such | WEEKEND WIND UP #61

Oh my goodness, there is so much to blog about lately!

Maybe it’s because I’m procrastinating once again (more exams coming up and I just can’t be bothered studying the pros and cons of different types of flour).

So be warned – this might as well turn into another one of my infamous wrap-ups.

First of all – I’M BACK IN THE GAME!

I’ve got a little story in the local newspaper today! Yay! Despite it being minimalistic and without my any by-line even, it is my story in print.

Actually, I’m quite glad they didn’t put my name there because a) it’s a story about myself (about this achievement, actually) and b) the subs messed it up and totally changed the meaning of one sentence completely.

I wrote: “… made a cake decorated with traditional, contemporary and futuristic pastries” and they changed it to “made traditional, contemporary and futuristic pastries”.

Spot the difference? Now it sounds as if I was a plain baker (which, in Germany, means all you do is bake bread, buns and Brezeln and the odd croissant, after all there are more than 200 types of bread in our lovely country) and not as if I was making all different types of cakes.

Which brings me to my next bullet point… cakes.

I’ve discovered this book recently and although I haven’t had a chance to have a look inside, I am really intrigued by its title:

Although it came out in mid-2011, there aren’t any reviews on amazon yet but according to the product profile it’s a book that will appeal to “end-times enthusiasts, Goth foodies, fans of Cake Wrecks and anyone looking for a lighter take on Armageddon”.

Which sounds very much like something I could see my favourite writer Chuck Klosterman commenting on… would totally love to hear your opinion on that book, Chuck!

On another note (but still associate-able if ‘Killing Yourself to Live: 85% of a True Story‘ comes to your mind instantly when you think of Klosterman), here’s a new take on the post-it:

I’m afraid I really have to go and get on with those flour types now… and save the other stuff for future posts.

Tell me about your achievements, favourite cakes, books or writers in the meantime, if you like. I’m looking forward to hearing from you!

One thought on “Apocalypse Cakes and such | WEEKEND WIND UP #61

  1. Sabrina, congratulations on your story being published! Kudos to you! Apocalypse cakes? Those two words should never be in the same sentence, methinks! hee hee! In my case, it would be the apocalypse if there were no more cakes!🙂

Leave a Reply

