Yet another writing challenge

Last night I was unable to go to sleep because I realised: it’s August already!

A couple of weeks ago I had found out about Camp NaNoWriMo, the novel-writing challenge best known for its annual “30 days and nights of literary abandon” in November – except it happens in August.

Since I kind of failed in taking part in NaNoWriMo last year I decided to take part in Camp NaNoWriMo this year – and almost missed it.

See, November is an incredibly busy time for pastry chefs. Actually, September right through to February is an incredibly busy time for pastry chefs and confectioners. It’s Christmas time.

And Christmas time means working about 12 to 14 hours, lack of sleep, lack of free time – and loooooots of delicious cookies.

I have to admit that when I started my job training, I didn’t expect Christmas would have such a huge impact on my business – and I certainly didn’t expect to give up NaNoWriMo on… what… Day 2?

Especially since taking part in 2010 was so much fun.

Anyway, summer camp is on now and it’s going to be awesome! (And I’m telling you about it because the more people you tell about the more often you’ll be reminded to actually work hard to achieve your goal. You don’t think so? Well, it’s Sabrina-logic.)

{Let me know if you’re taking part, it would be so much fun to meet up at some fireplace and roast some marshmallows! Or we could even share a cabin, maybe?}

3 thoughts on “Yet another writing challenge

  1. Pingback: Mini-Marshmallow Cupcakes | coffeerocketfairytale

  2. Pingback: Limping through 50,000 words with Honey Boo Boo | In other words

  3. Pingback: Back to Camp NaNoWriMo | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

Leave a Reply

