First taste of Winter

Today marks the end of summer time in Germany as we adjust our watches to winter time.

But today also is the day of the first snow of the season (as well as the day when my car got it’s winter tyres, that is funny coincidence, though) and you probably know by now that if there is one thing (other than coffee and cakes) that excites me it is snow.

I love how you can smell the first snow in the crisp autumn air and I love the surprise when you wake up in the mornings and realise the outside world is all white and covered in pretty snow flakes. It probably has to do with childhood expectations because as a child I spent all winter waiting for the magic to happen. So many times I was disappointed when I ran to my bedroom window just to find there was no snow at all but rain instead. But those days when it did happen – when Jack Frost sent the prettiest of all snow flakes right down to where I was waiting – will stay in my memory forever.

I am ready so ready for winter and with all the snow glory outside, it felt like a good day to steep oranges in alcohol to make Christmas liquor.

I used the zest of 2 untreated oranges, cinnamon powder, anis, nutmeg, coriander, cardamum (10g each), 3 g ginger powder and 5 cloves. I put it all in a bottling jar and added 0,7l vodka, then mixed it well. (It now looks pretty weird, like, very brown because of all of the powdered herbs.)

In 4 weeks time, I will bring 100ml water with 250g sugar to the boil and add the sugar solution to the mixture of herbs and vodka.

Then it will have to sit in the kitchen for another 3 weeks until I can strain it through a sieve and fill it in bottles – and it will be right on time for  Christmas!

What are you looking forward to this season?

10 thoughts on “First taste of Winter

  1. Pingback: The smell of winter | WEEKEND WIND UP #69 | coffeerocketfairytale

  2. We’re supposed to get some snow this weekend. I’m quite excited, I really like snow.

  3. Great idea! It’s Winter here in UT too but we don’t have much snow yet. I’m okay with that though😉

  4. You can drink it “just like that” but I could imagine it taste quite nice in some cocktails too. What a great idea! Why have I not thought of this?

  5. I too might have a slight issue with the waiting time, but I’ve been looking for a recipe like that and might just try it this week! I’ll let you know how it works out😉 Do you mix it in the end to a cocktail or are you drinking it “just like that”?

  6. Thank you Bella, I really like it too! Yeah, the waiting can be pretty annoying (especially if you start thinking about making Christmas liquor a week before the holidays or something) but it might be worth it…

  7. Sabrina, this sounds like the perfect liqueur for a cold, winter’s night! Too bad I’m not good with the waiting process that it seems to require. hee hee! I love this shot of you! That hat is so adorable!🙂

Leave a Reply

