The smell of winter | WEEKEND WIND UP #69

The past few weeks have been literally horrible – but this morning I woke up to a miracle.

It was 4 am, I had to go to work on a day when most people stay in bed (or in their pyjamas anyway) and I am still recovering from a nasty cold. And then I looked out the window and there it was, my very own personal miracle.

The world was covered in white, glittery, silver shining ice crystals: snow.

If you’ve been following this little blog of mine for a while you have probably realised that I’ve been crazy about snow since I came back from New Zealand (where I had like six summers in a row, but that’s a different story). P1080661.JPG

You probably sit right at your desk now, thinking: “Oh no, here she goes again. The neverending love story of Sabrina and the snow.” Same story every year, I know. But I’m not sorry and I’m not going to apologise. I love winter and I love snow and, seeing how something as dull as the weather can actually turn the world into a place that seems quiter and more peaceful all of sudden, makes me happy.

IMG_7831.JPG

Meanwhile, with some Christmas songs playing in the background, I’m trying a new recipe. Roast apple cookies. Imagine the smell of cinnamon, clove, baked apples and caramelised brown sugar. And now put that into a cookie. Winter awesomeness, I say.

Cut 2 apples in mini-cubes and roast with a little butter in a pan (~2 min.). Sprinkle with a pinch of sugar and cinnamon. In a seperate pan, melt 100 g butter and 150 g brown sugar. Beat 1 egg and add to the butter-sugar-mix. Add 150 g flour, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 2 teaspoons cinnamon and clove. Finally, add the apples, then use a little spoon and drop spoonfuls of dough onto a prepared baking tray (greased or lined). Bake at 170-180°C for 12 minutes. Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

