Visual wish list | WEEKEND WIND UP #37

Not sure about you, but I am totally into good books, fine baking, cute stuff and cool music.

And – as you may know – my birthday is coming up next week (Wednesday, May 18, in case you wondered), so what better time to pick some nice things and make some sort of visual wish list.

{click to enlarge}

A few things I came across on my travels (on the web, haha) and which I liked:

Now the Bon Jovi bit is actually a bit of a problem. And there’s a bit of a story behind it, too.

I went to my first Bon Jovi show when I was 14 years old (got ticket from my brother and subsequently started developing a proper taste of music) and haven’t missed a Bon Jovi show in my area ever since.

When I lived in New Zealand and heard about Bon Jovi only coming to Auckland and Christchurch, I wrote an email to their management, pretty much saying that I think they should pay some attention to Wellington, too, because it’s the capitol and so on… –

ANYWAYS, last year Bon Jovi played a show in Wellington.

Now, I’m not that naive to believe that they chose Wellington because I told them to, but I was very disappointed that they played Wellington shortly after I had left the city (and the country).

LOST HIGHWAY TOUR {pic: own}

So I went to England – where they played secret gigs (which I didn’t know because they were secret) which I missed.

And then they announced shows in Germany.

And one of them will take place in the very same location where they played when I was 14 and I have been waiting for them to come back to exactly that location again ever since.

BUT – I will not be there.

Because they chose to play their show the very same day of “Irish Night”.

That’s basically a little open air concert, too, which is being hosted by our local Irish pub and my hometown.

And my family’s restaurant because we do the catering.

Meaning I won’t be going to the concert and neither will my brother.

So after missing out on Wellington and London, I will also miss out on the gig here.

Depressing, I know.

{If you’re not a music addict and Bon Jovi fan like myself, you probably cannot relate to my deep despair and most likely feel very very bored by my monologue. If that’s the case I’m sorry. But then again – that would be your problem, not mine. 😉 } 

8 thoughts on “Visual wish list | WEEKEND WIND UP #37

  1. Pingback: I’m back | coffeerocketfairytale

  2. Pingback: Pix’ Blog anniversary | WEEKEND WIND UP #38 « coffeerocketfairytale

  3. Thanks everyone!

    Peg, that’s totally my style: a combination of retro and modern. I just love to combine tradition with modern style.

    Ana, I can imagine how disappointed you were! It must have been awful!

    Thank you, Brandy! I had a wonderful day!

  4. I can totally relate to your Bon Jovi woes – I’ve been going to V Festival for years now, but one year I was on holiday when the tickets were delivered, so they went to the post office and were stuck there over the weekend that I was meant to be going to the festival. I was *so* gutted!

    Like Alexandra says, you’ll see Bon Jovi again, even if it’s not this time. Maybe you should write them a letter asking for them to come back – you never know!

    Have a great birthday today, I hope you get some of the items on your wish list!

    A.x

  5. Thank you for your comments on my blog. I love the items you picked in the first picture,its such an interesting combination of retro and traditional. The book you mentioned sounds really interesting I may have to look on amazon to get a copy.

    x

  6. Thank you, Alexandra, for your kind words. The Cranberries are amazing, I really like their music, too, and espeically their song Zombie!
    I’m sorry to hear about your loss, but I hope you have good memories of the concert and of being there with your brother.

  7. I have always been a fan of The Cranberries since I first heard their song Zombies. Then and there I was hoked. Almost more than ten years ago they came to Puerto Rico and the concert was amaizing. Years later I heard they had broken up, very very sad. I played their cds over and over again, they are my all time favorites. I sharish that concert not only for it was awesome, but it was the first and last concert I went with my brother who died four years ago.

    You will go to a Bon Jovi concert, maybe not this one aproaching, but the next. Keep a watchful eye on that cute man God had the pleasure to create, Ohhhh he is sooo cute! ‘Till next, Sabrina.

Leave a comment